Read Across America and Dr. Seuss

Yesterday was Dr. Seuss’s birthday.  He would be 113 years old, if he were still alive. Dr. Theodor Suess Giesel was a prolific writer of children’s books.

dr-suess-title-motif

Every year, Dr. Seuss’s birthday is celebrated in Read Across America Day.  Many of his books, like Cat in the Hat and One Fish, Two Fish are synonymous with early reading.

According to the local CBS news this evening, many rappers list Dr. Seuss as one of their main influences because he introduced them to the concept of rhyming.

San Diego has a special relationship with Dr. Seuss.  Although he was born in Springfield, MA on March 2, 1904, he lived for many years in La Jolla, CA, where he died on September 24, 1991.  His widow gave UCSD over $10 million dollars in 1995 for the library, which was renamed the Giesel Library in his honor.

The Giesel Library is also the home of the of the Dr. Seuss collection.  From the library’s web page:

UC San Diego’s Dr. Seuss Collection contains original drawings, sketches, proofs, geisel-librarynotebooks, manuscript drafts, books, audio- and videotapes, photographs, and memorabilia. The approximately 8,500 items in the collection document the full range of Dr. Seuss’s creative achievements, beginning in 1919 with his high school activities and ending with his death in 1991.

 

Currently the library has a “Happy Dr. Seuss” exhibit  that will run until 24 March.  Yesterday they had a birthday party in front of the library.

The Giesel Library is also partially credited with discovering a previously, unpublished book from the Dr. Seuss collection.  What Pet Should I Get?, was thought to be written in the 1950s or 60s.  It went on sale in July 2015.

what-pet-should-i-get

The drawings and writing are by Dr. Seuss. Cathy Goldsmith, who did the coloring on his last published book,  Oh The Places You’ll Go,  worked on rendering Seuss’s original black and white drawings into color.

Although, Dr. Seuss is primarily known as a children’s author, many of his words can apply to kids of all ages-even really old ones….

What is your favorite Dr. Seuss quote?  If you were to write in A Suess-esque style, what would you write?  Join in the conversation and share what your favorite Seuss story is.

8 thoughts on “Read Across America and Dr. Seuss”

  1. Rolig writes: “You’re in pretty good shape for the shape you are in” provokes a lovely double take when I hear it. I enjoy thoughts that catch me off guard like that and make me say, even quietly, “Yeah …. what?” I adopted a catch phrase in the same spirit years ago, “I’m not as dumb as I look,” which is a little more self-deprecating than Dr. Seuss. Like his “pretty good shape” quote, though, it leaves people wondering how to agree (or disagree) gracefully. A good turn of the phrase should do that …. make you think before opening your mouth to respond.”
    As usual you are spot on.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for taking the time to comment about Dr. Seuss. I am very pleased that this time the comment actually got to appear on the blog. Guess we could say, not too bad for a couple of old broads.

      Like

  2. This is Rachel! I’m so glad you blogged on this topic. A perfect fit! I used to love reading Dr. Suess books to my daughter when she was a little girl, and I also liked them when I was teaching elementary school. It seemed like any unruly classroom could quickly be quieted down by reading the students a Dr. Suess book. What would I write about it in a Suess-eque style? Maybe some rhymes to help adults quiet their unruly minds on topics like finances or relationships. I’ll share if I try my hand at one. As always, a pleasure to read.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rachel, I am so pleased that you recommended that I write about Dr. Seuss. I didn’t realize that his birthday was Thursday. Seemed like a very appropriate time and place to write about Giesel at that point in time. Would you please send me an invite to your Embrace the Beach blog?

      Like

  3. Hi Pat-This is Bonnie. I think my favorite quote is “The more that you read, the more things you will know. The more that you learn, the more places you’ll go.” Great blog. Thanks for sharing. Bon

    Liked by 1 person

  4. An author for the ages – both time and birth to death. My favorite: Bartholomew and the Oobleck. Both word and story describe life situations with the most colorful accuracy. My Seuss incident took place in a time (now long ago, the 1970s) and place (far away, Germany) unrecognizable to the post electronic world. The general asked for a quote from Happy Birthday to Me for a speech. There wasn’t a copy in USAREUR. Just I magine what I could have done with the Internet!

    Like

Leave a Reply

