What Begins with F and ends in UCK

Disclaimer–you can tell this joke to your mother, grandmother, preacher, at work, in mixed company-etc.

dog on a treadmillIt’s not the word you are probably thinking.  This word has two syllables.  Does that help you guess?

F-*-*-*-*-*-u-c-k–Got it yet?

It is big and red and makes lots of noises.  It is used by both men and women.  For some people it is just a job, but for most of them it is a true passion.  They used to do it with horses but now it is a mechanized.

You must have guessed it is firetruck.

Usually when a limerick starts There once was a girl from Nantucket, people start to squirm.  This may not end well.  How about this version?

Girl with bucketThere once was a girl from Nantucket

Who carried her lunch each day in a bucket

Her bread was so hard

It bounced more than a yard

And so she decided to chuck it

Have you ever engaged in sideways cursing–where you say heck instead of hell, dang instead of damn?  Join in the conversation and share your favorite There once was a girl from Nantucket limerick or what word you use instead of the F word.  I had a friend with a son who was four at the time.  His 9 year old brother came home from school and shared that a kid had used the F-word.  Bobby, the 4 year old, did not know what the F word was, but he could figure out it was something bad. He went around saying  “You F-word.”

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “What Begins with F and ends in UCK”

  1. I’ll admit it: I’m a pansy when it comes to colorful language. I save my damns for truly worthy occasions and I can’t remember the last time I used the F-word — if ever. I explain my choice intellectually by observing that foul language stops having much shock value when it is overused, and I don’t feel much need to shock people anyway. The truth is, though, that is still shocks me at some visceral level. I’m reminded that I overheard a conversation about smoking between my father and a friend a long time ago. Dad’s friend pointed out that good people smoke — even Winston Churchill enjoyed a cigar — and Dad replied, “Yes, but I’d still think more highly of him if he didn’t.” I’m with Dad on this one, and it applies to strong language as well. I’m disappointed when someone I respect uses the F-word or uses “damn” as a thoughtless filler word, and I’d rather not have people that I respect feel the same disappointment when I speak. I’d rather have them snicker when I say “dang”, or “drat”. (My grandfather’s favorite was “THUNDERATION!” I snickered a lot at that one, and then ducked.)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for another thoughtful post. If people curse all the time, as you say, it loses it’s impact for when a situation is horrific enough to deserve the disgust the warrant the expletive. I do like Thunderation–it has a solid, timeless quality to it. Agatha Raisin in one of my favorite cozy mystery series by M.C. Beaton says “Snakes and Bastards!” which I think gets the points across without undue vulgarity. Love your story about your father’s feelings on Winston Churchill. Funny how our view on smoking (and now vaping) have shifted over the years.

    Like

Leave a Reply

