Review of Teagan Genevien’s Dead of Winter through Journey 6

Teagan has chosen to serialize this high fantasy novel in monthly installments. For her legions of fans who are taking this Journey with her, so far we have not had to wait more than a month for the next highly anticipated episode.

Covers of the first three Journeys

Our heroine, 12 year old Emlyn Eriu, can see, hear, and communicate with spirits and other entities. Emlyn has learned that most people can not do this and that they are fearful of her extraordinary talents, particularly her family and neighbors living under the stern theocracy of the Un’Naf.

Emlyn’s journeys begin about the time she escapes from home and joins the Society of Deae Matres, a learned society of women who travel the world to search out, collect, and preserve knowledge. This particular group of women are accompanied by an equerry ( a horse whisper), two bodyguards (members of royal houses from two vastly different countries), and two hirelings. We also get to know the various personalities of their horses, a raven and a White Wolf. They travel by horseback and wagons, resembling gypsy caravans. We are learning that there are other Deae Matres who are not part of this traveling group and more about the history of the Society with each Journey.

These fascinating characters come from diverse backgrounds and countries that explore the breadth of Teagan’s high fantasy world. Each country is unique with differing histories, geography, religions, governments, and customs. Some of these countries seem almost familiar–but each is unique to the story and Teagan’s imagination.

Emlyn in particular, journeys back and forth between the Realm of the Living and the Realm of the Dead, as the troop continues its trek through the Flowing Lands, toward the Bone Mountains and the Revenant Pass.

Most of the Journeys are introduced by the Watcher, an ancient woman who may have been a member of the Society of Deae Matres. As her shredded memories come and go, she provides possible insights into the supernatural events and characters that move as freely through the different realms as Emlyn.

I give this serialization 5 Stars.

Dead of Winter — The Journeys

Universal Purchase Links

Journey 6, The Fluting Fell



Journey 5, Llyn Pistyll Falls



Journey 4, The Old Road



Journey 3, the Fever Field



Kobo:  Dead of Winter: Journey 3, the Fever Field eBook by Teagan Riordain Geneviene – 1230004609599 | Rakuten Kobo United States

Journey 2, Penllyn




Journey 1, Forlorn Peak



Kobo:  Dead of Winter: Journey 1, Forlorn Peak eBook by Teagan Geneviene – 1230004446033 | Rakuten Kobo United States

11 thoughts on “Review of Teagan Genevien’s Dead of Winter through Journey 6”

  1. Pat, I’m honored by this review. I am sharing it far and wide! I’m so happy you are enjoying this series. I apologize for being so late. My Internet is down more than it’s up… and I got overwhelmed trying to keep up.
    I hope you’ve been keeping cool, and had a good weekend.
    I’ll be featuring this on Wednesday. Hugs on the wing!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I guess my tardiness here is proof that I need to take a break. But it won’t be more than a few weeks, because I need all my blogging friends.
        Meanwhile I’ll work on Dead of Winter, and get some more done on my Amazon Vella serial — which is just for exposure to a different audience — Since I don’t have an advertising budget, I’m going for exposure that way. Assuming Amazon actually gets Vella off the ground… That will be a steampunk take on Pride and Prejudice.
        Anyhow, thanks again. Hugs on the wing.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. New novel sounds interesting. In library school I traced the printing history of Pride and Prejudice. If I were working on it now. Your new novel would earn a small paragraph as a unique adaptation. 🤓😉


    1. Oooh that must have been an interesting project. Haha, mine is unique alright. 😀 It’s not meant to be serious. It’s slightly campy and set in an imaginary world. Mr. “Bennet” (the names are different and I have a “system” of sorts for naming them) gets to have a little more fun. And many things about the world are different. It’s fun to write, but I have little time for it.
      Have a great rest of the week. Hugs.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.