Third Poetry Prompt Results

3. Lyrics and Musicality

Choose a catchy song that you enjoy and rewrite the lyrics, but stick to the rhythm and meter. Try to go way off topic from what the original lyrics were about. You can play the song while you work on the exercise or search for the lyrics online and use those as your baseline. The idea is to get your mind on the musicality in your writing.

Home of the chocolate bar

There is a store in the neighborhood
They call the Chocolate Bar
It draws chocoholics from all around
I can walk, don't need a car

My mother liked her candy bars
Milk chocolate was her choice
I'm not that particular
If it's chocolate, I rejoice

The only thing a chocoholic needs
Is to get another fix
I don't care if it's a Snicker's bar
Or a broken off part of a Twix

O Weight Watchers tell your members
not to do what I have done
to finish a bag of snack size bars
before Halloween had begun




35 thoughts on “Third Poetry Prompt Results”

  1. A nice tribute to chocolate, Pat! I liked rhyme and rhythm of the poem. Whether it’s seed or salad, chocolate is good to eat, especially dark ones. A nice post indeed!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks, GP. I’m back on the Midway today and just celebrated with a bite of a Hershey’s milk chocolate snack size bar from the communal Halloween candy someone brought into the Library.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.