Are We the Sum or Some of Our Existence?

I was reading Brother Campfire Personalities Shamelessly Exposed Online where he shares his “hypothesis is this. Folks do not like to have their perception be wrong and are comfortable seeing one or few aspects of a person. It makes some uncomfortable to read a blog that expresses very real and personal thoughts. “

Then he asked:

“Do you have readers from far reaches or an even balance of those you know personally? What is your ratio of readers?

What do you think is the cause? I am very curious to know in the comments.”

Having a punny sense of humor, I wondered if we are the sum (entirety) of our existence or are we the some (part) of our existence? Are we always the same or do we share different facets of our personalities depending upon the situation and the audience?

I have two followers who I know personally. I have a few that I feel like I might almost know through their blogs, there are many I do not know and a few I may not want to know better than as occasional blog followers and commenters.

Say what?

34 thoughts on “Are We the Sum or Some of Our Existence?”

    1. I think we’re grateful for that. Your pastoral existence seems lovely to those of us who do not live in such climes. Just living has its aggravations and what is one person’s deal-breaker is another person’s not a problem.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Well…an interesting thought to ponder I would say, but in the blogs it’s hard to say, although I’ll say I’ve always been the same in this “universe”…but in real life, meaning the interactions of our daily affairs, I think we all change, adapt, compromise and try to be agreeable as much as possible…

    Liked by 4 people

  2. I definitely don’t put all of myself on my blog or in comments. No one wants to hear if my hip hurts and I’m all grumpy about it. I tend to keep my political views to myself, too, because people get so angry about politics.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. You know me after all these years … deliberately vague and transparent as mud, but a sincere friend. There are plenty of things I would never have shared with my own mother. Aren’t most of us like that? Sorta, anyway … ?

    Liked by 2 people

  4. SL is an odd environment where you can spend hours chatting with somebody in a group or one on one. We may never get to meet the real person but I think after so many years and different interaction circumstances I feel like we can almost know the real person. I think that Rhonda is not as confident as Abbey and I like both of them. I feel like I may know you as well as you allow the real Loon to be known in SL. I wonder what your RL friends don’t know about you (like pole dancing) that we do 😉 Thanks for commenting.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I had a relative read my blog for the first time (my nephew from my first marriage), and he made a comment “damn, auntie you blow those penthouse writers out of the water”. I liked that he said that but I wish it wasn’t my nephew saying it. It saw a different side of me he didn’t know.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Blogs are excellent for showing the parts of yourself you think are worthy of it. I’ve read posts by one or two bloggers who are always griping about things, and even when I agree with them, I don’t find it a happy experience. So I tone down my cynical, misanthropic thoughts. (Really, I do!)
    It’s sort of like the garden pictures I post–always plants and areas that look good, not the ones that are struggling or a mess.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I think it’s the latter – people are more multifaceted than we (or even they themselves) give them credit for and that not all facets will be readily apparent in every situation. I’m not going to start a karaoke performance in the middle of a work meeting no matter how much I love karaoke, for example. I mean, not if I wanted to keep my job!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.